Why this website/blog?

I have been serious about saving money only from 2012 onwards, every month a percentage of amount used to go for saving, but the problem was there was no sense of purpose for those savings/investment.
It’s only after going through many blog posts from subra sir/pattu sir and various other blog posts, videos, podcasts and understanding the numbers behind them that I realized that it’s very important to assign a goal to every rupee that you save, once you have identified the goals the next step is to have a proper allocation to each of those goals, this helps in minimising the risks that are involved , so I started this exercise from 2017 onwards, there was a lot of juggling done around that time on my investments to make it goal oriented, this was also the time where I moved many regular funds to direct funds.
Because of that exercise, today I feel slightly more confident about my current finances and the sense of direction that it is pointed towards. It is in no way perfect, but at least i feel its better than what it was before.
Now it’s only human nature that you get distracted and lose focus along the way, that’s the reason to start this blog ..to give myself a sense of accountability .. so going forward I would like to put up my progress on a quarterly basis and give a brief about what I plan to do or what not to do.

Broadly speaking I have 3 goals that I track – emergency, retirement, kids education.

Emergency – currently it has approximately an year worth of salary, it’s spread around debt/liquid/arbitrage funds, I do contribute into it every month but it’s a bit random, I do pull out from the corpus occasionally for re-balancing and stuff like that but it’s immediately topped up, goal is to increase this corpus year over year

Kids education – Investing in this regularly, equity contains an aggressive hybrid fund and fixed income or debt portion contains PPF

Retirement – Investing in this regularly, equity contains a basket of funds and fixed income or debt portion contains EPF

I have a bunch of excel sheets where I keep track of the investments, it’s transactions and progress, also I have a python script which calculates the XIRR at both individual fund level as well as at a portfolio level.

Next month I will update these graphs and talk a bit more about it.

One thought on “Why this website/blog?

Leave a comment